Humble and Blessed.

Recently, I have been so positive and so humble for many reasons. One reason in particular is because ever since I did volunteer work with the Ronald McDonald House in Las Vegas, I have been feeling beyond blessed. Words can’t even begin to describe how humble I felt after that experience. Of course the only thing I did was just put up Halloween decorations all over the building, but it wasn’t about just making sandwiches or putting up festive pieces for a house. It was about doing things for families and making them happy despite what they were going through. Not to mention just recently I was talking to someone who worked at my school and just hearing some of the things she goes through on the daily basis.

While I was hearing her talk about her job and a little bit of her life, I really thought to myself “Why are a lot of us as people worried about things that shouldn’t even matter when there are people who go through things much worse than us?” We all have our own problems, of course. That is something none of us can change. But, there are people who are losing their lives, losing their homes, or losing people left and right, or don’t even have anything at all. I really do think about this every day because there are so many people who don’t have anything, yet we complain about everything that is going on. I don’t know how many times I have complained and bitched about something about me, whether it is “I’m so tired” and “I’m so stressed” when I really shouldn’t be. I have an amazing family who supports me, I’m in school, I am working, and I am still breathing. There are certain people who don’t even have anything who are just blessed that they are even living.

The people I have talked to within the past few days, as well as weeks, in addition to the experience of taking the time out of my day to do some volunteer work really does make me realize of how blessed I am with the opportunities I have in my life because there aren’t that many people who even have enough to get food to last them for the day. What makes me so happy more than anything is seeing people happy. It really does put a smile on my face whenever someone is just happy and living life or a simple “Thank you” is just said to me.

What I am trying to say in all of this is just remember what you are living for. There are so many people in this world who complain about what they don’t have when there are people struggling for survival. Of course we go through things, yes we have problems, and absolutely we are going to have our days where we aren’t going to like a particular person, but why are we focusing on the bad parts of life instead of focusing on the great parts of life? Too many people are losing their lives for certain reasons, whether it is getting killed, having an illness, or they have put their amount of time on this Earth and had to leave. But, just talking to someone for a few minutes, saying hello to a stranger, or even giving a half of a smile can really make someone’s day. Even giving a few pennies to a stranger wouldn’t be so bad either. Yes, I do mean a few pennies, not your entire checking account.

Point is this: There are 7 billion people living right now, so why not be the one person who is living life?

Leave a Reply

