Sam Smith, Tinashe, FKA Twigs, and Jessie Ware On Cover of V Magazine

Four artists. Four covers. One magazine. All in one year, and nothing but just pure slayage!

Artists Sam Smith, Tinashe, FKA Twigs, and Jessie Ware all are on this year’s Spring cover of V Magazine, looking absolutely amazing. While their stories are completely different, as well as their covers, all four artists talk about their passion for music, fame, and more.

Here are a few excerpts from the magazine below:

“Comparisons to other artists can be frustrating, because not only does it put you in a box, but it hinders the listeners’ own creativity. Of course there are always similarities between artists like myself and Jhené Aiko, but that doesn’t mean we’re the same because we exist in a similar genre. If everybody’s making quality sh-t, then there’s room for everybody.”

“If I say “alternative red” to you, it’s not red, is it? “Alternative R&B” is patronizing to R&B. R&B is R&B—it doesn’t need an alternative. There are plenty of artists now experimenting with electronic music, manipulating sounds. We can make a train into a synth. We can make drips into hi-hats. I can record sounds on my phone and make a song out of a city. I don’t know what that has to do with R&B.”

“I’m just more aware than I was back then. My eyes are wider open, but I’m enjoying myself. I’m happier, much happier. That’s the big thing.”

Check out the covers below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

[Credit: V Magazine + Necole Bitchie]

Images via V Magazine

Leave a Reply

