#LightGirls

So, I’m sitting here on Twitter and I see a lot of tweets people posting about Oprah. I check it out and I see that she is doing a documentary on light skinned women, which I think is a great idea. Why I believe this is because it shows what type of disadvantages and challenges many light skin females face in the world. But, of course there are those who are upset because she is doing a documentary on light skinned females and saying how light skinned females don’t have any challenges or don’t face any issues just because they are not dark skinned.

What bothers me about this is that first of all a lot of people didn’t have an issue when Oprah did a documentary on dark-skinned, which I thought was great. The documentary she did on dark skinned women was great because it shows a lot of challenges many dark skinned women face for many of reasons. However, what many people don’t realize is that light skinned women have problems in their lives too. We as light skinned women get called so many things and get judged because we aren’t dark skinned or even brown skinned. We get called “high maintenance,” “Satan,” “prissy,” “bitchy.” and that we have it so easy and that we think we are better than everyone else and that we think we are better than dark skinned women.

Just like there are many dark skinned women out there, there are beautiful light skinned women. The first African American First Lady of the United States of America is a dark skinned woman. One of the most successful and richest women in the world is a dark skinned woman. There are so many dark skinned women out there who are so successful out there, including an Oscar Award winning actress and a successful iconic model. So, what I don’t get is why are there so many angry people just because Oprah is showing what kind of disadvantages light skinned women face?

Being a light skinned woman, I get judged just because I am light skinned. I get called high maintenance, Satanic, a bitch, prissy, stuck up, and so many other things. A lot of females judge me just because I am not dark skinned. I’ve even been asked if I was mixed or if I was half white.

Point of it all is to say this: no matter if you are dark or light skinned, be proud of who you are and no matter what color or race you are, you are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

