The Real ME.

Cocky. Weird. Antisocial. Stupid.

These are many words that many people have thought about me. How do I know what they really think about me? They don’t have to say it: I just know. Looks and stares I get on the consistent basis from many people, including strangers, can really tell what someone may think about me. But, have I grown to not care what another person’s opinion about me is? Absolutely.

Coming from Los Angeles, California, I’ve been the type of girl who loves hanging around anyone, as well as trying to be myself without being judged. Trust me, I get judged EVERYDAY about a lot of things, from how I dance (no, I cannot dance either LMAO) to my size (P.S. I weigh at least 80-90 pounds and yes, I love food!) or even by the fact that I have acne on my face. Surprising, right? Yeah very. Not to mention I also come from a family of people who are very…interesting. I’m not going to put their business out there for the entire world to know, but let’s just say that I have some people in my family who will definitely have you surprised.

From the time of when I was in elementary school to the time of when I was in high school, I was judged constantly. “You have lice” and “You’re ugly” and blah blah fucking blah. I’ve tried to fit in with everyone else, but even then that didn’t work. Many people continued to use me, laughed at me because I wasn’t like everyone else, and I’ve even been picked on. I remember when I was in class in middle school and I was not even in a good mood and this one girl (I can’t remember her name) and she kept asking me to do her homework for her because she “couldn’t do it.” Little did I know is that she took credit for what I did and got a better grade than I did. Not to mention this girl named Tenaya Lee (sorry I had to put this out there) would pick on me every single day because she would think it was funny to do it. Even as a college student I get so many looks because of my size or anything else that people find “weird.” I’ve even heard comments from other people I don’t even hang around like that say shit about me or just snicker whenever they would look at me.

But, do you all want to know the people who made me who I am now? First and foremost is my mother. Without her support and all of the advice that she has given me, I wouldn’t be the woman I am and trying to become. In addition, my father, who is nuts but has my back. Not to mention my sisters, Robin + Mersedees, who are crazy as fuck but their advice about anything makes me better.

Next person is my best friend, Briana, whose is my right hand. Her drive for success, fearless spirit, and positive energy is one part of me that I one day hope to become. She has been there for me through a lot of things in my life and without her, I wouldn’t be the person I am now and the person I am trying to become. She is truly someone I am excited to work with and someone I am also honored to call my best friend.

Another person is Jasmine Joseph, who is like mini Beyonce. She is not only classy, but humble, successful, and someone who never worries about life and continues to focus on what makes her happy. Not to mention she also never lets anyone brings her down and carries herself like the young queen that she is.

One other person is Terry Carter, who I find inspiration from when it comes to blogging or just journalism overall. His writing is not only extraordinary, but he is such an Aquarius: humble, hard-working, and fearless. His work ethic + words of wisdom is definitely like no other.

One last person is Julz Goddard, or also known as YesJulz. She is such a fucking QUEEN. Why I say she is one of my biggest inspirations because her drive + commitment to what she loves to do and despite days of her wanting alone time, she pushes herself to do her job and does it for the passion of what she does. She also inspires me to be who I am and to work twice as hard and keep working hard for what I want for myself, as well as never backing down from what I want to get to where I want to be.

But, how do I find inspiration through other people? I don’t have to know them personally (well, I kind of do) to know how amazing they are. Many people also wonder one thing: why am I always shouting out women rather than men? The answer is simple: ladies run the world. Now, I am not saying that I don’t respect a man because a man who works hard for what he wants and has goals for himself and does what he can to reach those goals is a man I respect. But, women aren’t respected enough, especially in the field that I plan to go into.

As a Journalism + Media Studies (PR, Marketing, Advertising) and a future business woman, it is considered to be a male – dominated industry, especially in public relations. So, women who work twice or three times as hard as a man is a woman that I have the upmost respect for. I wish I could write a list of women I think are so amazing not only because they are in the same career as I am in, but how their drive for success makes them who they are.

I also find inspiration from those who are around the same age as I am. Crazy, right? Of course I look up to those who are older than me and have been in the business longer. But, people who are the same age as I am or around the same age range as I am? I find inspiration from those because they are the future leaders and the ones who are going to be running the world. I look at their work ethic and I get motivated because it pushes me to be as great as them and really be able to look at them + say “Because of you and how hard you work, I am successful.” Besides, I love creative people who are willing to work for what they want and be the best at it.

If you would’ve asked me what I wanted to do back in 2010, I would have told you 1 millions. I wanted to do everything and I had no clue how I wanted to get to where I wanted to be. Now, if you was to ask me what I want to do with my life, I would tell you with no hesitation and even be the one to tell you my back up plans.

Am I where I want to be in my life? Nope. I mean, I have a long way to go. Yes, I have over 10,000 views on my blog (thank you to everyone who reads this shit) but to me, I want to be able to be successful and inspire people and allow them to never give up. I know that I’m young, but one of my biggest goals for 2015 is to be successful and have a name for myself and people to be able to see that I’m not just some female from California. But, like many great things, things takes time. So, whether that will be 6 months or even 5 years from now, I will be at the top and no one is going to stop me.

Leave a Reply

